Please rotate to landscape

Kookaburras chase 10th SAS Cup gold

Kookaburras chase 10th SAS Cup gold image

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup nears its exciting conclusion as the teams play off to decide who will contest the medal positions.  In the opening match of Friday 9 March, Argentina will take on Australia, then Ireland face India before England play host nation Malaysia. Australia are guaranteed a place in the final after they defeated Ireland 4-1 to go top of the six-team-table with a maximum 12 points following their fourth consecutive win of the tournament. This will be Australia’s 13th appearance in the final of the SAS Cup since 1983 – they have won nine times (last time in 2016), finished runners-up four times (1999, 2006, 2015 and 2017) and finished third three times (1994, 2001, 2010).

Argentina, Malaysia and England are all in a position where they can finish in second place in the table and hence go into the final against the Kookaburras. Argentina have the dating task of needing a win against Australia to progress to the final, while whoever wins between Malaysia and England can take advantage of a slip by Los Leones.


Currently, Argentina are on seven points, Malaysia on six and England on five. Ireland sit at the bottom of the table below India. The lowest ranked team in the competition are still searching for a point from the tournament. India have four points after they beat Malaysia and drew with England. In their match against the world number one side, Argentina will be looking to their sharp-shooter Gonzalo Peillat to do some damage. The specialist drag flicker is sitting top of the goal scorer’s board on six goals, all from penalty corners.


The match schedule is as follows (all local Malaysian time):
Friday 9 March
16:05 Argentina v Australia
18:05 Ireland v India
20:35 England v Malaysia
Saturday 10 March
15:30 5/6 placing
18:00 3/4 placing
20:30 Final

Share this

Back to list
FHE Online
STX Surgeon
lauren Penny